I Am Green Minded Under Eye Brightener Review

I don't know about you guys, but I feel like my undereye-circles appeared overnight! I've been noticing this more and more (especially in photos). I was very curious to try the Under Eye Brightener from the brand I Am Green Minded . This product is a loose powder and comes in a container with a sifter  and is meant to be poured onto the lid. The powder is a light-pink color. (Photos Below).

 

Price: $21.00

 

Product claims (from website): 

  1. Neutralize - Universal shade transforms the dark circles
  2. Lightens over time - Infuses a cosmeceutical, botanical blend of extracts, to lighten dark under eye circles over time
  3. Zero Comedogenic - Will not clog pores

The "whitening over time" claim did scare me at first because I thought there must be some sort of chemical in there. However, this product lists licorice root as an ingredient, which contains glabridin; Glabridin has natural whitening properties. This product also has caffeine which improves circulation and cucumber to help soothe the eyes. There are  tons of other great vitamins and ingredients as well. 

 

How I apply:

 

I sprinkle some of the product onto the lid and take some on a medium-sized fluffy brush. I carefully apply a light layer by gently pressing the brush under my eye. I repeat this process until I get the desired coverage. I'm careful not to apply too much.

Photo Below: Under Eye Brightener was applied only on the right under eye. You can definitely see a difference in brightness.

Left: No Product / Right: With I Am Green Minded Under Eye Brightener
Left: No Product / Right: With I Am Green Minded Under Eye Brightener

Pros:

 

I really like this product for brightening the under-eye. I've found the best way to apply is with no concealer under and adding a little at a time. I like to use this on days when I want to wear little to no makeup and want my eyes to look nice and awake. If applied correctly, this is a wonderful product for under-eyes! Also, it is important to moisturize the skin because the consistency of the Under Eye Brightener is of  a dryer mineral powder. 

 

Cons:

 

I've used this product maybe about ten times now and have yet to see any actual whitening happen. I've tried this product over the RMS concealer and it made my skin look cake-y and also dry. I also found that if I apply too much, it starts to look dry and also it can almost make my under eyes TOO bright. 

 

 

Ingredients (from website) : Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Kaolin Clay, Boron Nitride, Serecite Mica, Iron Oxides. Bright eyes blend: Glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice root), Cucumis Sativa Extract (cucumber), camellia sinensis (green tea), Paullinia cupana (caffeine extract), Aesulus hippocastanum (horse chestnut), Olea europaea (olive leaf), Hippophae rhamnoides ( Sea Buckthorn), Rosa canina (rose hip).

 nt wt 0.06-0.07oz / 1.7-2.1g